Peanut Butter Balls!

I remember when I was younger, my Mom would make Peanut Butter Balls at Christmas time every year. They were my favorite Christmas cookie of all time! Now that I live far, far away from my Mom (sniff… tear!), I make them for my own little family at Christmas time. And every time I do make them, it just reminds me of being a kid again :).

I was roaming around Walmart today and was looking in the Christmas aisle and was thinking that I should probably get something for the boys’ teacher… as I was thinking about what to get, I saw some Christmas tins and it suddenly dawned on me… Why don’t I just make some peanut butter balls and put them in this cute little tin? BRILLIANT!!

Low and behold… Peanut Butter Balls!! And the tin was only a DOLLAR!!

Don’t they look delicious? Is your mouth watering yet? Cuz you should know… they ARE delicious!

Ok, ok… I’ll share the recipe 🙂 But ONLY cuz I’m nice! Haha!

Peanut Butter Balls

1 cup creamy peanut butter
1 cup margarine or butter (DON’T use tub margarine or light margarine~doesn’t work)
4 cups powdered sugar (that’s one 16 oz. box)
1 cup graham cracker crumbs (that’s approx. 18 squares or one package out of a box)

Mix all the above ingredients together.  Roll in small balls and refrigerate for at least one hour.  If it seems too dry and won’t roll well add and mix in a little more peanut butter.

Melt in double boiler: 1 (12 oz.)  package chocolate chips and **1/2 square paraffin.  Keep warm on stove.  With tooth pick dip balls in chocolate mixture, hold over pan for a bit so the excess chocolate drips off and refrigerate (add a little dab of chocolate to top of each ball to cover the toothpick hole…do this before you refrigerate).

**1/2 square of paraffin measures 2 ½” x 2 ½”  OR use half of a 5” x 1 ¼” squared cake of wax.

**I like to place the rolled balls onto a baking sheet with wax paper on top of it… the wax paper works great for keeping the dipped chocolate from sticking to the baking sheet too.

**If you’re like me and don’t have a double boiler, you can use a large pot with a little bit of water with a smaller pot inside the large pot.

So there you have it… the best Christmas cookies/dessert you will ever have!! 🙂 Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Balls!

  1. Jan Kok says:

    Beautiful little goodies Sara. And, it warms this Mama’s heart that you are carrying on the tradition! They definitely remind our family of Christmas times in the past. =) Love you, Mom

  2. Yum Yum Yum! These are so going on my “to bake” list for the holiday christmas party ❤

Leave a Reply

